The start of adulthood?

N.B. I wrote the first half of this a week ago, and I have now left Oxford and am back at home in Lincolnshire.

It’s been almost a whole year since I wrote a blogpost but that is not to say that the past year has been uneventful. On the contrary, it’s been a highly formative year: I’ve completed my degree, found out what I’m really interested in, and made exciting plans for the coming year. To be honest, it feels like it’s been about five minutes since I got home from Spain last June having finished my year abroad…and now I’m sat in my room in Oxford, surrounded by boxes and suitcases ready to be taken back to Lincoln for the final time tomorrow.

To say a bit about Finals, suffice to say that they happened and I came out the other side considerably more tired and haggard but alive and proud of myself for getting through it. Oxford Finals are notoriously gruelling because for several of the BA courses 100% (or almost) of the degree hangs on a handful of exams at the very end of the three or four years. It’s an antiquated system which lends itself well to last minute cramming and for which I have (at present) little to no respect. Maybe I’ll feel differently about it in a few months time when the seemingly endless revision period and the flurry of sitting eight three-hour exams in less than a fortnight is but a distant memory. Or maybe not.

That said, I could not be more grateful for the myriad opportunities that coming to Oxford has given me; I genuinely feel that I am leaving the place transformed into a completely different person to who I was at the beginning. I’ve learnt a lot about my subject and about myself and met some people with whom I know I will be friends for the rest of my life. But, although I am sad to be leaving a city where I’ve been so happy, I have no doubt that it is very much time to move on.

And I’m moving on to something really quite exciting: at the end of August, I’ll be moving to Santiago de Chile, where I’ll be working as an English Language Assistant through the British Council for ten months. I cannot wait, and am currently in the process of sorting everything out: visas, insurance, flights, and so on. Latin American life is not exactly famed for its fast pace and things are taking a while, but I suppose that that’s something I’ll just have to get used to!

Anyway, I’m planning to rekindle this blog and post regularly while I’m in Chile, so watch this space for updates on my ever more desperate attempts to evade adulthood…

 

Leave a Reply

